Skip down to page content.

Highland Lakes

Highland Lakes

The Highland Lakes

The Lower Colorado River Authority was created in 1934 by the Texas Legislature as a conservation and reclamation district and operates on revenues from utility fees generated from supplying energy, water and community services.  LCRA supplies low-cost electricity for Central Texas, manages water supplies and floods in the lower Colorado River basin, develops water and wastewater utilities, provides public parks, and supports community and economic development  including managing the Highland Lakes.  Low-cost utility services and ensuring the protection and constructive use of the area's natural resources are primary goals of the organization. 

Lake Travis photo 2011Lake Travis

The Highland Lakes chain consists of 7 lakes starting at Lake Buchanan and culminating in Lady Bird Johnson Lake in Austin.  

Lake Buchanan ~ Inks Lake ~ Lake LBJ ~ Lake Marble Falls ~ Lake Travis ~      Lake Austin ~ Lady Bird Johnson Lake 
Current Lake Levels (from LCRA)        Historical Lake Levels (from LCRA)